What is Faith?

What is Faith?

Faith has four elements to it… knowledge, assent, fiducia (love commitment), and hope.

1. Knowledge – You can’t trust someone you don’t know. Faith consists of the knowledge of the Person of God and the Plan of God.

2. Assent – This is when you accept what you know as truth.

3. Fiducia (or Love Commitment) – This is when a behavior change takes place. You become like what you worship.

“Our God is in heaven! He does whatever he pleases! Their idols are made of silver and gold– they are man-made. They have mouths, but cannot speak, eyes, but cannot see, ears, but cannot hear, noses, but cannot smell, hands, but cannot touch, feet, but cannot walk. They cannot even clear their throats. Those who make them will end up like them, as will everyone who trusts in them.” (Psalm 115:3-8 NET)

Changed behavior increases the probability of taking risks on behalf of the one in whom you have faith.

4. Hope – Confident expectation about the future.

The four elements of faith are knowledge, assent, fiducia (love commitment), and hope.

The gauranteed way to increase faith is to go to the Scriptures where God’s will is specifically revealed and take the risk to obey Him!

What risks are you taking today for the One in whom you have faith? If you are in ministry, turn people to God, help them know Him and His plan! Rather than teach on ethics, good parenting or principles for living, for example, give them someOne to believe in: the Lord Jesus Christ!

Comments are closed.